HTML and Tables in WordPress

Today [3/2/13] I wanted to insert a table into my WordPress blog, but found no ‘insert table’ icon in the Editor, so I played around with developing some model HTML code for a 2 column table that I hoped I could insert in the Text/HTML mode of the WordPress editor.  I proceeded by copying a table from one of my Word files into the online Word to Clean HTML converter, then copying the resulting HTML code into the free web page editor KompoZer (so I would have a permanent record).  I then copied the HTML code from KompoZer and, using the Text/HTML editor mode in WordPress, pasted in the code.  The result turned out quite well – faithful reproduction of my borderless table from Word.

Result:  Table created by inserting HTML code in Text mode of WordPress editor

Cloud Storage Deleted-Warning your
online account could be deleted anytime as happened when Microsoft deleted someone’s SkyDrive account – no reason given.
IE 9 Better/Faster than FirefoxFirefox Shortcuts
Why VLC Media Player free when others
must pay for included Codecs.
Font Removal in Win7-how delete pesky
foreign fonts

end test – and, yes, it works just fine.  I was glad to see that the free WordPress accepted HTML code.

I then noticed that the WordPress editor provides an icon for ‘Paste from Word’ which I will try below and compare the results with my HTML created table above. As you can see, it comes in quite nicely. I also learned that one can change the text within the cells after table is imported from Word.

Result: Table Created by using the ‘Paste from Word’ icon in WordPress editor

Cloud Storage Deleted-Warning your online account could be deleted anytime as happened when Microsoft deleted someone’s SkyDrive account – no reason given. IE 9 Better/Faster than FirefoxFirefox Shortcuts
Why VLC Media Player free when others must pay for included Codecs.  Font Removal in Win7-how delete pesky foreign fonts

So I really don’t need my HTML coding method to insert a table into WordPress, but the method may prove handy for use with other online Web apps.

One thought on “HTML and Tables in WordPress

  1. Pingback: Convert Word to Clean HTML | Ramblings of a Cronegeek

Leave a Reply

