Cans of Spam Still Popular

Cans of Spam can be found in 40% of U.S. households, says a Star Tribune article of 7/23/12. I must lead a very sheltered life – I’ve never met a person with Spam in their household. Article goes on to say that Spam and canned chili produce most of Hormel’s revenue. Spam is also identified as a “high margin” product, so worthy of the new advertising campaign.

When I posted this on Facebook, one of my old college classmates commented “We had Spam at home. My mother liked to fry battered Spam for meals.”

Another friend wrote:

SPAM is so popular in Hawaii, one can buy it in Sears. During WWII, US Armed Forces turned the locals on to canned meats. SPAM prevails today. I do not have SPAM, but my mother does.

Leave a Reply

